The Eighth Annual Parliament and Internet Conference  |   Programme

31st October 2013  |  Attlee Suite, Portcullis House 

09.00 – 09.20

Registration and Coffee


09.20 – 09.30

Welcome and Introduction

Stephen Mosley MP, Co-Chair, and John Robertson MP, Vice-Chair, PICTFOR

09.30 – 10.20


Plenary Session:

Are We Privatising Morality?



Dr Julian Huppert MP, Vice-Chair, PICTFOR

Nick Pickles, Director, Big Brother Watch

Dr Andy Phippen, Professor of Social Responsibility in IT, Plymouth University

Dr Miranda Horvath, Reader in Forensic Psychology, Middlesex University

Chair: Baroness Fritchie, Chair, Board of Nominet UK

10.20 – 10.50


Keynote Speech:

European Single Market and Digital Integration

Paul Timmers, Director, European Commission DG CONNECT For Sustainable & Secure Society

Chair: John Robertson MP, Vice-Chair, PICTFOR

10.50 – 11.10



11.10 – 12.00



Breakout sessions

What are the key issues facing the governance of the internet and how will these affect the UK going forward?

– Attlee Suite



Communications data, surveillance and privacy

– Room U






Filling the skills pipeline – how can we secure the supply of talented IT professionals?

– Room R

UK-Internet Governance Forum (UK-IGF)

Susie Hargreaves, IWF     

Vicki Nash, Oxford Internet Institute     

Lucinda Hasell, Childnet International       

Andrew Puddephatt, Global Partners      

Louise Bennett, BCS        

Mark Carvell, DCMS

Lesley Cowley OBE, Nominet

Chair: Alun Cairns MP, Vice-Chair, PICTFOR


Internet Services Providers’ Association (ISPA)

Jamie Bartlett, Demos

John Benson, Solutios

Gus Hosein, Privacy International

Martin Hoskins, Privacy Consulting Ltd      

Gary Beautridge, Kent and Essex Serious Crime Directorate

 Chair: Chi Onwurah MP, Co-Chair, PICTFOR


e-skills UK

Karen Price, e-skills UK

Kate Ross, IBM

Colin Bannister, formerly CA Technologies

Ann Brown, Capgemini

Adeline Owen, UCL

Chair: Mike Crockart MP, Member, PICTFOR

12.00 – 12.15

Feedback reports from morning sessions

Feedback chaired by John Robertson MP, Vice-Chair, PICTFOR

12.15 – 12.45

Keynote Speech

James Brokenshire MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Crime and Security, Home Office

Chair: Lord Harris of Haringey, Treasurer, PICTFOR

12.45 – 13.30

Networking Lunch

Sponsored by EE

EE Digital Skills Zone open in the Attlee Suite 

13.35 – 13.50

13.50 – 14.00


14.00 – 14.20

Keynote Speeches

Joint Q-and-A Session


Hon Ed Vaizey MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Culture, Communications and Creative Media, DCMS

Ed Richards, CEO, Ofcom

Chair: Mr John Whittingdale MP, Chair, House of Commons Select Committee on Culture, Media and Sport

14.20 – 15.10

Breakout sessions


Cyber security in the business – from PLC to SME

– Attlee Suite



Tomorrow is here Today: Internet of Things Showcase

– Room R





Creating a better internet together

– Room U



George Quigley, BDO

Claire Reid, PwC

Dr Emma Philpott, IASME Consortium

Chair: Lord Harris of Haringey, Treasurer, PICTFOR

Digital Policy Alliance (DPA)

Konstantinos Chalaris, Good Night Lamp

Femi Banjo, KNRY

Lauren Bowker, Multichromic Fabric and Air Quality Egg

Nathasha Carolan, RepRap Self-Replicating 3D Printer and MakieLab Dolls

Chair: Earl of Erroll, Member, PICTFOR


Lucinda Hasell, Childnet

Martina Chapman, Ofcom

Simon Milner,  Facebook

Laura Higgins, Professionals Online Safety Helpline

Laura Batten, Disney Club Penguin

Chair: Will Gardner, CEO, Childnet

15.10 – 15.25

Feedback reports from afternoon sessions

Feedback chaired by Stephen Mosley MP, Co-Chair, PICTFOR

15.25 – 15.35

Keynote Speech

Jonathan Millican, UK Cyber Security Challenge Champion 2012

Chair: Stephen Mosley MP, Co-Chair, PICTFOR

15.35 – 16.25

Plenary Session:

Making the Most of Mobile

Lord Inglewood, Chair, House of Lords Committee on Communications

Dan Perlet, Director, Corporate and Financial Affairs, EE

Jamshid Khun-Jush, Senior Director, Qualcomm

Peter Farmer, Council Member and Regulatory Chair, ITSPA

Philip Barnett, VP Sales UK & Ireland, Good Technology

Chair: Stephen Mosley MP, Co-Chair, PICTFOR                        


Closing Remarks

Stephen Mosley MP, Co-Chair, PICTFOR

John Robertson MP, Vice-Chair, PICTFOR

Lesley Cowley OBE, CEO, Nominet

16.30 – 17.30

Drinks Reception